What are the Elements of Creation?

Posted on Thursday September 20, 2018

The Ancient Greeks believed that the universe was formed by just four elements—earth, air, fire and water. Dubbed the Elements of Creation, all natural things are composed of some combination of them and modern astrologists even group the 12 zodiac signs into these same four categories. Here’s a quick guide to finding your own element, so you can understand your strengths and weaknesses while building stronger relationships.



The air element is believed to refer to the human soul. In the creation story, God formed man and then breathed into his nostrils the breath of life so that he could become a living soul.

Air signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Even when you can’t see it, air is always in motion. The same goes for people born to air signs. Of the four elements, airs are most concentrated on thought: They think through every decision thoroughly, see the big picture and find smart solutions to difficult problems. They’re rational and clever, witty and entertaining. And although they can multi-task, they’re strongest when focused on one problem at a time.

Are you an air sign?  Create your own air sign jewelry.



The fire element is the force of spirit. Created on the first day, when God says let there be light, fire is an all-consuming heat. Angels are said to be filled with the fire of God’s grace, which warms and enlightens but also judges and destroys.

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Fire provides heat and light but cannot exist on its own. This is exactly how it is for people born in the fire sign: Loved ones are their true motivation for being. While air signs make fire grow, earth signs keep it burning steadily. Natural-born leaders and the life of a party, fire signs are passionate and warm and light up any room. They can convert any negative into a positive, but also any positive into a negative. When not contained, fire spreads. As such, a fire element’s passion can turn to anger.

Is someone you love a fire sign?  Spark their passion with personalized fire sign jewelry.



The element of water signifies life. Babies live in fluid before they are born and man is made up of 70% water. Without water, all things die. Water also suggests that something new is about to begin: Noah’s flood began a new civilization, the crossing of the Red Sea marked the birth of Israel, and Jesus’s baptism in the Jordan River signaled the beginning of his ministry.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water constantly flows, teeming with activity below the surface. Similarly, people born to a water sign may seem calm and collected on the outside, but their emotions ebb and flow on the inside. Water signs see life as a journey, and every movement they make is part of a specific path. Compassionate and caring, water signs connect easily with others, but are also prone to carrying other peoples’ burdens while neglecting their own needs. Harmony is found when water signs can balance helping others while also helping themselves.

Are you a water sign?  Create waves of positivity with your own unique water sign jewelry.




Water gives life to earth like a mother to a baby. On the third day of creation, God created earth from the water. And later creates man from earth, which is why we sometimes call it Mother Earth.

Earth signs: Taurus, Capricorn, Virgo

The earth is stable and dependable, yet constantly working. Those born to the earth element share these traits. Practical, stable, reliable and logical, they stand firm in their convictions. They are doers, and sometimes called stubborn or bullheaded. They learn through experience and set achievable goals. And they love to create, so many are artists.

Is someone you love an earth sign?  Get them some customized earth sign jewelry.

Back to Blog